When is a “Star Wars” movie not a “Star Wars” movie?

And is that necessarily a bad thing?

“So… What did you think?” I asked.

A pause.

“I need some time to process.”

My girlfriend and I had just finished watching Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, so, as always happens when we go see a movie, we had a lot to talk about. Now, I’ve been a Star Wars fan since I was a little boy, and I have the Darth Vader Halloween pictures to prove it. But as much as I like the series, she loves it, and has since she was nine years old. The movies have always been a huge part of her life, so whenever anything new comes out, I’m always eager to see what she thinks of it. But we had just watched Darth freakin’ Vader bust some Rebel heads in ways I’d only ever dreamed of seeing onscreen, and here she was being reserved (though to be fair, this was also how she had reacted to The Force Awakens until such time had passed that she could properly mourn Han Solo). In the discussion that followed, we came to a conclusion: while we both liked it (I a bit more than she), it didn’t exactly feel like a Star Wars movie.

SPOILERS AHEAD, SINCE I GUESS I HAVE TO WARN YOU THAT SOMETHING I WROTE BASED ON MY REACTIONS TO A MOVIE WILL TALK ABOUT THAT MOVIE

ALSO, SORRY IF YOU DIDN’T KNOW HAN SOLO DIED IN THE LAST MOVIE

I DIDN’T WARN YOU ABOUT THAT

MY BAD

Let me reiterate: I really, really liked Rogue One. I’m not sure I’ve ever felt giddier in a movie theater than I did during Darth Vader’s scenes (and, for the record, I am all about Vader cracking jokes and making puns when he Force chokes someone). But overall, this movie didn’t feel like a Star Wars movie—or, at least, what we’ve known a Star Wars movie to be up to this point. That’s not a bad thing at all! And it’s not necessarily a novel observation, since the point of the films-formerly-known-as-Anthology-movies is to tell new stories in the Star Wars galaxy that are separate from the Skywalker-centric main episodes of the Saga. It’s a wonderfully exciting idea (particularly if future installments aren’t just origin stories and prequels), and opens up a wealth of possibilities of what can be done when storytellers aren’t necessarily beholden to the house style of opening crawls and wipe transitions. There’s room for as many different kinds of stories in this galaxy as there are midi-chlorians in Anakin Skywalker’s blood (oh, wait, I forgot we don’t talk about that… sorry). We’ve seen it before, both in the no-longer-canon Expanded Universe and in the current crop of tie-in novels, comics, TV shows, video games, and breakfast cereals.

honey_nut_cheerios
Totally canon

Now, though, these new types of stories are major motion picture events, which means that they’re reaching a much larger audience than ever before. These new films are redefining what it means to be a Star Wars movie. While this is undoubtedly a good thing (it’s exciting to truly not know what to expect), it also means that audience members need to adjust their expectations accordingly. Sure, The Empire Strikes Back ends on a downer note for our heroes, but it’s not unexpected, as it’s the middle act of their story. In Rogue One, every main character gets shot, blown up, or disintegrated, and… THE END (except for Darth Vader killin’ fools and CGI-Leia reiterating that the theme of the movie is “the next one has ‘Hope’ in the title”).

Everyone on the internet had a lot of fun when the headline for Vox.com’s Rogue One review was “Rogue One is the first Star Wars movie to acknowledge the whole franchise is about war.” “Silly writer!” the memes proclaimed. “The word ‘wars’ is right there in the title! It’s mentioned in the opening crawls! Of course it’s about war!” And yes, it is. But it’s only about war in the broadest sense. It’s always been good vs. evil. The Dark Side and the light. At its heart, the Star Wars saga is a fairytale, with wizards and princesses and monsters and fallen knights clad in black armor. It’s a story anyone can enjoy, but one that is essentially designed for children (which is not a bad thing at all). Rogue One, on the other hand, is quite literally a war movie, practically a historical drama about a (fictional) wartime event that we’re vaguely aware of but not certain of the details of. In much the same way a film like, say, Glory illustrates the story of one particular regiment in the United States Civil War, Rogue One tells the story of one particular band of Rebels in the titular Star War. Future Star Wars Stories may be lighthearted in the vein of the Saga films. Others might be as dark as Rogue One, or even darker. They may be hilarious or terrifying or downright bizarre. They can be anything, because their purpose is to fill a space that the main films can (and perhaps should) not.

Rogue One had a very difficult job to do. Not only was it the first Star Wars film set outside of the main saga, but it was the first to premiere within a year of another in the franchise. The Force Awakens was still fresh in the minds of audiences, and anticipation for Episode VIII is only growing. As a result, and because nuance died with the birth of message boards, there seems to be a growing divide among fans: either you liked The Force Awakens and it was the return to Star Wars you had been dreaming of for years, or you liked Rogue One and it was the return to Star Wars you had been dreaming of for one year longer than those other people had been. Of course, plenty of people liked or loved both (or didn’t like both), but these two camps seem to be the most vocal. It’s almost impossible to talk about Rogue One without bringing up one’s feelings about The Force Awakens. So I’ll do it, too!

I loved The Force Awakens. I thought it was wonderful, capturing the spirit of the original trilogy while introducing a wealth of exciting possibilities for the future. Setting aside the criticisms that its story was too close to that of A New Hope, what made The Force Awakens work so well for me was the strength of the characters. Each new character was instantly likeable, or at the very least immediately interesting. In his first few scenes, we learn that Poe Dameron is brave, witty, and possibly the most genuinely friendly character in the franchise. Finn is in over his head and just wants to escape to a peaceful life, but he has a strong conscience and a deep sense of loyalty to his friends. We don’t know much about Rey’s history , but we do know how her abandonment and solitary life have shaped her into a person who longs for belonging, and dreams of escaping scavenging while simultaneously being held back by the lingering belief that maybe, just maybe, her family will return for her. Kylo Ren is powerful, but so aware of the fact that he’s not, nor will he ever be, nearly as powerful or feared as Darth Vader was that he just comes across as an impetuous, temperamental brat. While much of my initial excitement for the new trilogy was the return of the original cast, these new characters grabbed me from the first viewing, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for them.

I wish I could say the same for the characters of Rogue One. Which isn’t to say I disliked them. In fact, I wanted more from them. Maybe it’s because they all die at the end, and we know we won’t see their stories continue in future films, but I feel like we merely scratched the surface for most of the characters introduced in Rogue One. The two characters we spend the most time with, Jyn Erso and Cassian Andor, have the makings of interesting characters, and Felicity Jones and Diego Luna were both great in their roles. But the film, either through fault of the script or through material lost in the reshoots, leaves many questions unanswered. What is Jyn’s history with Saw Gerrera? We know she became a criminal under an assumed name after leaving Saw’s rebel group, but how? As for Cassian, he alludes to the fact that he’s done terrible things in the name of a cause he truly believes in, but the only real example we have is him killing his informant at the beginning of the movie. At one point, he tells Jyn, “I’ve been in this fight since I was six years old.” This sounds important, but is never truly elaborated upon. Maybe it’s a story that will be explored in a novel or comic book series someday, but in the meantime, it only raises questions. Characterization shouldn’t be left to extratextual sources, lest the movie itself suffer. If it’s important enough to be mentioned in the film, it’s important enough to actually explain in the film, as well. The same goes for Chirrut Îmwe and Baze Malbus, the Guardians of the Whills we meet on Jedha. Why has Chirrut remained so devoted to the Force? If Baze was once the most devout of the Guardians, as Chirrut says, why did he lose his faith to such an extreme degree? As for Imperial pilot Bodhi Rook, why did he decide to defect from the Empire, aside from one pep talk with Galen Erso that’s mentioned in passing? Each of these characters should, by rights, be fascinating. Every actor did a great job, and I enjoyed the time we spent with each of them. But so much is left unanswered, and for characters in a standalone story, that shouldn’t be the case.

K-2SO was perfect, though.

k-2so-in-star-wars-rogue-one
Let’s see him find THAT “vague and unconvincing”

Again, all of this isn’t to say I didn’t like Rogue One, as I liked it very much. It just shows that as a standalone movie, it focused a little more on plot than character, while The Force Awakens, both as the start of a new trilogy and as a homage to A New Hope, tended to favor the characters over the plot. One approach isn’t necessarily more “right” than the other, but the difference is illustrative of one way the Star Wars Stories may differ from the Saga (though the next one, being based on the adventures of a young Han Solo and Lando Calrissian, is likely to swing more in the “character driven” direction).

Star Wars means different things to different people. To some, it’s a sweeping space opera, or a sci-fi struggle between a powerful evil and a scrappy rebellion. You might respond to its fantastic elements, the classic “Hero’s Journey” story, or the memorable characters. The good news is, with two episodes left in the new trilogy, and an infinite number of possibilities for Star Wars Stories, it looks like there will be something for everyone over the coming years. I, for one, can’t wait to explore these new edges of that far, far away galaxy.

3 thoughts on “When is a “Star Wars” movie not a “Star Wars” movie?”

  1. Mr. Larsen, you had me at “nuance died with the birth of message boards.” At the risk of bastardizing my eloquance, I lol’ed much. I want to expand on this film with you because I feel the same way. What a good film teetering on the edge of great. I’m dying to view it a second time because so much of my first viewing was spent in blind excitement that I was watching a new Star Wars film, of any kind. My excitement literally prevented me from paying attention to some parts and unfortunately obscured some dialogue.

    Overall, this film, as you point out, had a monstrous task to overcome: be a Star Wars film without being a Star Wars film. I appreciate that this premiered only a month after Fantastic Beasts, because they share that very same task via Harry Potter, and I feel both simply excelled. FB&WtFT (did that really save time?) left a lot of my friends disappointed because it wasn’t Harry Potter-y enough for them but that is why it’s great. It’s a new film series about a different perspective within the HP universe that does not share the same heartbeat and veins. Rogue One is beautiful because it is neither prequel nor sequel. It is not required viewing. It does not have to allude to its original creator with, as you point out, crawls, swipes, thematic music, heroes and villains, good and evil, love stories, and swashbuckling adventure. This proves Star Wars will lend itself to a diversification of genre, and if Disney wants to prove that the highest grossing fictional property of all time can out-gross itself, it’s gonna have to.

    Characterization bummed me out to a degree. As I was watching the film, I, too, was disappointing with the lack of depth in each character other than Jyn and Cassian. I agree and felt that this film was setting up these characters for novels, comics, and other supplemental material, and that is wrong, though take my money now Disney! However, I feel like they did a lot with the time they had and I didn’t realize it until each character was killed. Each death hit me like a freight train, as I had somehow become attached to each character rather quickly. In that sense, the film did its job, but introducing fundamental Jedi lore like Kaiber crystals, the Temple of the Whills, its guardians (who apparently have some Force ability), and the presumed birthplace of the Jedi in a single scene, and then not at all expand upon any of it, is, in my opinion, nothing if not a giant cocktease. How dare you?! On Jyn and Cassian, I have to say I could appreciate Cassian’s character arc much more than Jyn’s, and that’s a bit of a shame if she was to be the protagonist, which I’m not sure this film clearly defines as such. While his arc felt like an actual arc, I can only describe her’s as a pulse monitor, flat at the beginning and end, but with a single narrow blip in the center. Does that make sense? Her motivations in the film change so drastically and in such a short period of time that make it hard to believe. To me, these issues are minuscule in contrast to how much it got right.

    First of all, how beautiful is this film? There is nothing more Star Wars to me than futuristic technological wonders that are old, unimpressive, and largely obsolete against the backdrop of some rich scenery. You could walk in half way through the film knowing nothing and say, this is Star Wars. I suppose that gives you my answer to your question. I had someone tell me that they didn’t like the location titles because that is not Star Wars. “I mean, sure, but this film is not really Star Wars so why does it matter?” I say. “Seems to be a really insignificant detail.” If Force Awakes taught me anything, it’s how eager I was to see a modern filmmaker’s take on Star Wars. X-Wings under a slight fog skipping across a lake to save the day, or X-Wings maneuvering through canyons in a night’s rain also to save the day; basically, I require lots of X-Wings in my films. Every shot seems so perfectly crafted and every action sequence meticulously perfected.

    On the subject of the ethics of using CGI to bring Peter Cushing back to life, and de-age Carrie Fisher, I say fuck it. It was awesome. I can suspend my disbelief and pretend not to notice the uncanny valley long enough to appreciate how far visual effects have come and also how spot on Tarkin’s voice actor was. I’m sure one day it will be retouched to look perfect for a Special Edition anyway. This brings me to my next point:

    This film is not for camp of nerds that is so against the Lucas-esque meddling of the original films! And! I think they’re too stupid to figure that out. Let me explain that I am firmly in the opposite camps and have always welcomed most of the changes, in each of the four times there have been with some exceptions: “No! NOOO!”, the new rock in front of R2-D2 (it seriously does nothing and how the hell did he even back into it?), some of the needless clutter in Mos Eisley, and there is probably at least one other that escapes me. I challenge any fan to watch the original cuts and tell me they actually prefer it to the newest updates. A New Hope becomes almost unwatchable at some points. I firmly believe Star Wars would have not survived without the newer updated versions. The changes are necessary to carry Star Wars into the future, while making it meld with its new siblings. How am I supposed to watch the prequels and believe it should carry into a very low budget ANH? The changes bridge the gap forward to modern film making while Rogue One goes to extreme measures to bridge the same gap backwards! Tarkin and young Leia are featured, Darth Vader’s suit was purposefully designed to be the worn out, uneven, and probably smelly version we saw in 1977, screen graphics seem to be reduced in-story to the simple lines and diagrams that existed when the originals were produced. The whole plot of the film seems to only exist to explain the literal plot hole of why the Death Star’s structural integrity is subject to a tiny exhaust vent. To this, I say bravo! The entire film is basically a Special Edition bonus feature. To those who can’t see that, I’m sorry you now secretly like the changes, and also who cares who shot first?

    Surely you were also squatting instead of sitting in your seat with both hands firmly on the top of your head watching Darth Vader murder bitches? I have never loved a scene so much. I especially thought this scene was necessary because we never see Darth Vader use the extremes of his abilities other than in Episode III. This can be explained in story since he never has had a reason to use even half of his abilities in the originals. When he fights Obi-Wan, he previously states that escape is not his plan and is suspicious of his motivations. Their fight is largely symbolic and I assume Darth Vader knew that Obi-Wan’s plan was to be killed all along. When he then fights an incredibly amateur Luke, he knows he is his son and fights down to him both times, as he is just trying to convince him that he cannot be beaten and that he should be joined instead. So please please let us just have a glimpse of Vader with no reason to hold back and all the reason to massacre. I love that the film ended on him failing because it gives more depth to his motivations in ANH. He was personally beaten and the plans slipped through his fingers and his pride must be vindicated.

    I’ll end my comment on an anecdote from just a few hours ago. I was in line at a grocery store when the patron behind me just says, “Disney really wrecked Star Wars huh?” I was so sure he wasn’t talking to me that I ignored the fellow because nothing about my appearance or behavior suggested I was a Star Wars fan with an opinion on this matter. Then he repeated his remark right at me so that there was no way I could mistake his attempt on my attention. I very reluctantly asked him to explain. He went on about how his beloved Expanded Universe no longer existed in canon and all the years of content he enjoyed was kaput. I played devil’s advocate for a second without letting him know I thought he was being ridiculous, “Yes, but the Expanded Universe left no room for new stories like Episode VII or Rogue One. Also, Disney owns Marvel and took Marvel’s best writers and artists to make some really great comics.” “I don’t like comics,” he said. “They are too expensive and don’t give you as much content as novels.” What do you want from me stranger?! Star Wars is growing and changing. If you don’t like it, then you no longer like Star Wars. You still have all the old movies and all your precious novels. Reread them and let me pay for my groceries! Do you seriously go around prodding strangers about your disapproval of Disney-Star Wars?! Get over it! In that same sense, if you don’t like Rogue One or Episode VII, that’s a mighty fine opinion but realize that these films are bringing Star Wars to a whole new audience and generation. My 9-year old brother is obsessed with VII. When asked if he would like to watch six more amazing Star Wars films right now, he said nope. While I vehemently disagree with his decision to remain in the dark, I am so excited that newer generations are on board because guess what: We, ourselves, are second generation Star Wars fans. We have to concede that not everything is made for us. Star Wars belongs to a wider audience. No one must be selfish enough to believe it belongs to them. The Force is with us all!

    Like

  2. You both need to learn the five sentence/five paragraph rule.

    But I agree with basically all of it.

    I loved both 7 and R1. I won’t rehash any of what’s already been said (which doesn’t leave me much) but here’s my contribution: I don’t think this is a Star Wars problem. I’ve seen this bafflingly bitter reaction from fans to various sequel movies (and even non-sequel movies) across the board. But I don’t even think it’s a problem with the movies. It’s a problem with the “fans.”

    I consider myself an avid film watcher. I enjoy a proper dolly shot like in Jaws, notice subtle musical cues like the Close Encounters theme in James Bond: Moonraker, and can consciously appreciate an unseen technical achievement of a film, like the difference between how the first Transformers movie looked in regular evenings compared to DLP projection (was really amazing). Both you and Arnaldo are of this same breed of film-viewer. We can appreciate movies for what they are, because we’ve seen truly bad and truly great movies. Black and white, technicolor, celluloid and digital… we understand movies, and as a result, we know a good one when we see it.

    However, many people these days don’t appreciate films for what they are. They’re oblivious to many true classics, they don’t know what goes into making films, they can’t focus on a movie without pulling their phone out, and they’re so inundated with mediocre movies that I just don’t think they really appreciate Star Wars for what it truly is. They use lingo of the trade like “character development” and “story arc” as excuses for not liking it, but I don’t think they really know what good character development and story arcs and other elements ARE – which saddens me.

    My point is this: something as superficial as the crawl (or lack thereof), the wipes, or even the CGI characters doesn’t make or break Rogue One. Because the crawl, the wipes, and the CGI isn’t what makes the Star Wars saga so great. The Episodes are top shelf because they connect with us – and they connect with us for SO MANY unconscious reasons. Personally, Ep5 is my favorite because of how many amazing camera angles and shot motions there are in it. But anyway, we three connected with R1 and ended up loving it. From what I hear from critics, though, they didn’t connect with it because they either 1) came in with expectations they shouldn’t have (we knew this was going to be different) or 2) they don’t have a good enough film understanding to appreciate good cinema.

    I’ve just come to terms with the fact that some people are perpetual film gripes. They’ve always got to be a critic – nothing satisfies them. And a big part of that is because for some reason, they can’t just sit back, relax, and enjoy a movie. But that’s their problem =) BRING ON THE STAR WARS!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment